Area Information


The information below provides a brief overview of each of the towns within the Wheatbelt which accommodate a General Practitioner.

Our GP Towns

Central West

Northam

Toodyay

York

Beverley

South East

Quairading

Corrigin

Bruce Rock

Narembeen

Central East

Cunderdin

Wyalkatchem

Kellerberrin

Kununoppin

Merredin

Central North

Goomalling

Dowerin

Wongan Hills

Dalwallinu

North West

Bindoon

Gingin

Moora

Lancelin

Cervantes

The Wheatbelt GP Network (WGPN) covers an area of approximately 85,000 sq km mostly agricultural areas; however, mining and
the fishing industry also prosper in the Central Wheatbelt area. Its northern coastal boundary is between Jurien Bay and Cervantes,
its most northerly point is at Buntine Rock near Wubin, the eastern point is Westonia near Merredin, the southern point is at
Quarbading Hill near Corrigin, it then wraps around Perth and meets back with the coast halfway between Guilderton and Two Rocks.

 

 

NORTHAM:

Located just over an hour’s drive from Perth on the Great Eastern Highway, Northam is the major town of the Avon Valley and is WA’s largest inland town and commercial hub for the area’s rich farmlands. The Avon River is home to an abundance of bird life including the unique and much revered White Swans.

There is much to see around Northam including Morby Cottage. Built in 1836 by John Morrell, the founder of Northam, the cottage was the town’s first church and school and has now been lovingly converted to a museum. The old railway station, listed with the National Trust, has also been turned into a museum and is another piece of yesterday.

The Avon Descent is held every year in late July or early August, depending on the water level. This 2 day event attracts world wide competitors interested in white water racing. The Avon Descent starts on a Saturday from Northam and overnight camping is provided at Cobblers Pool near Toodyay with the finish in Perth on the Sunday.

Northam is also the home base for the ballooning industry within the Central Wheatbelt area. On a winters morning the sound of gas burners is the only indication of these otherwise silent giants overhead.

 

TOODYAY:

Toodyay is an historical town with “Connors Mill” and the “Old Newcastle Gaol”. Both of these attractions show the lifestyle of the past. The Toodyay town site goes back in time every year to celebrate the “Moondyne Joe Festival”.

The festival recreates the life of Moondyne Joe, the infamous Toodyay outlaw who made a mockery of the state’s police with his daring escapes.

 

YORK:

York is Western Australia’s first inland settlement and is literally “living history”. Throughout the year York has a number of weekend festivals like the “Big Jazz Weekend, June Sports, The Wine and Rose festival and the Grand Imperial Ball”.

Part of York’s charm is also their ability to do things the old fashioned way. This can be seen at Balladong Farm, with its original 19th century farm buildings, farm machinery and household equipment.

 

BEVERLEY:

Beverley is only 33kms from York and has a character all its own. During the Second World War an airfield was built at Beverley, though the towns association with aviation goes back to 1930 and the Silver Centenary bi-plane.

Another attraction which Beverley offers is the “Avondale Discovery Farm”. This farm provides a unique history display, together with the ability to experience the family culture that only an Australian BBQ picnic can provide.

 

QUAIRADING:

The town derived its name from the Aboriginal Kwirading meaning the home of a small bush kangaroo.

Toapin Weir is the first example of a reticulated water system from a rock catchment for farm properties. Completed in 1912, the weir is still in use as a water supply. The Quairading District Heritage Trail starts in the townsite of Dangin.

 

CORRIGIN:

The town is a popular stopover when visiting Hyden’s Wave Rock and seasonal wildflowers. The Corrigin Craft Cottage displays and sells high quality local crafts and preserves including the well known Kyalla Yabbies.

The Corrigin Museum gives a link with the past in its excellent display of early Australian farm machinery. The Miniature Railway and Steam Train is located next to the museum and is available for rides.

Visit the Dog Cemetery, an unusual pet cemetery dedictated to man’s best friend, located 5km west of Corrigin.

 

BRUCE ROCK:

Bruce Rock was named after a Sandalwood cutter, John Rufus Bruce. The original site of JR Bruces Sandalwood depot is located 2kms east of Bruce Rock. Stone wells dug by Bruce have been restored.

The Bruce Rock Museum comprises an historical display in the restored Bank with adjoining reconstructions of an original one-roomed school, a typical mud brick settlers hut and a Blacksmiths shop. Across the main street is a machinery museum including a superbly restored 1923 Buick. An Arts and Crafts Centre is located in the main street with a wide variety of work by local artists.

 

NAREMBEEN:

Narembeen is Aboriginal for Emu Hill and was named by Surveyor General JS Roe during an expedition in 1836.

Anderson Rocks are south east of town and features three gnamma holes (Aboriginal watering holes). The Narembeen Museum comprises historical artefacts collected from around the district from as early as 1922, when the township was established.

 

CUNDERDIN:

Cunderdin, located 58kms east of Northam, was settled in 1894 with the arrival of the railway. In 1901, the Goldfields Water Scheme reached the town bringing with it an increase in population.

Visitors can view machinery used in bygone years at the Cunderdin Museum, which also houses artifacts from the Goldfields Water Scheme and a Tigermoth aircraft.

 

WYALKATCHEM:

In 1904 JH Riches and J Lindsay were the first settlers to take up land in the Wyalkatchem area. Wheat was under crop as early as 1907 and the townsite of Wyalkatchem was declared in 1908. Two local museums display the region’s farming and pioneering days’ heritage.

 

KELLERBERRIN:

Kellerberrin was explored by Ensign Dale in 1830 with the townsite being settled in the 1890’s. The local heritage trail retraces the town’s links with the Goldfields and early pastoral industry. Highlights include historic buildings and a 4km drive to Kelleberrin Hill Outlook.

 

KUNUNOPPIN:

Located between Trayning and Nungarin along the Pioneers' Pathway, Kununoppin, in the Shire of Trayning, is a delightful small town nestled in a salmon gum woodland. Take time to meander through its streets to discover the tin sculptures scattered here and there. Seek out the swaggy and his dog.  
 
There is a hospital at Kununoppin and an Information Bay to assist travellers. Billacatting Nature Reserve is located north of Kununoppin. 

 

MERREDIN:

In 1892 when the Goldfields were discovered in Coolgardie, a stream of prospectors took the track from Perth to the fields. The procession of men and animal-drawn wagons moved on from one waterhole to the next. The Railway Station was built in 1893 and is now the local museum housing and 1897 locomotive and old signal box.

Totadgin and Hunt’s Dam Reserves both boast attractive picnic areas and seasonal wildflowers ideal for the bushwalker enthusiast. The CBH Wheat Storage Depot is the largest horizontal storage structure.

 

GOOMALLING:

The name “Goomalling” was derived from the Koomal Possum which inhabited the area when the district was first established in the Wongamine area in the late 1830’s.

The museum was once the Konnongorring School, a one teacher school typical of the schools which serviced localised populations between the years 1900 and 1940. The school room has been restored and furnished and now acts as the Goomalling Museum with a rare windmill and old machinery display.

 

DOWERIN:

Dowerin’s town name is taken from the Aboriginal word “Daren”, given to a series of lakes approximately 8kms from the town that was once freshwater.

Uberin Rock is a huge granite outcrop, northwest of Dowerin on the Uberin Road, with a natural picnic area and great views. The town is also home to the WA Tourism Award Winning Dowerin Machinery Field Day held in August of each year.

 

WONGAN HILLS:

The district of Wongan Hills was discovered in 1836 some seven years after the founding of the Swan River colony. Until the turn of the century, the only white men to visit the area regularly were sandalwood cutters and monks from New Norcia, shepherding their flocks of sheep.

Wongan Hills comes to life with the wildflower season every year. Travellers come from near and far to take in the picturesque carpet of colour and blooms.

 

DALWALLINU:

The name Dalwallinu means “a place to rest awhile” and it is the regional centre for the shire sharing the same name. The area consists of mainly wheat and sheep farming and some gypsum mining.

During the months of August to November the shire is a blaze of wildflowers.

An enjoyable short drive to Petrudor – a massive granite outcrop for the perfect picnic setting with nature all around. Follow the Rabbit Proof Fence north for a journey back in time to Cailbro School, a restored single room mud brick school of the 1940’s.

 

BINDOON:

Bindoon is the main town in the Chittering Shire and is at the northern end of the Darling Range. The area boasts many fine wineries and visitor attractions. Tourist Drive 359 continues through the Chittering Valley and is worth the drive amongst tranquil rural landscapes.

 

GINGIN:

Gingin is an historic town described as an English Village in a Western Australian setting. Set in Redgum country along the unique fresh water Gingin Brook.

The Uniforms of the World Museum houses a collection of almost 3000 pieces including medals, badges and uniforms dating back to 1799.

An impressive walk trail following Gingin Brook takes you through ferns and lilies under a canopy of paperbarks. With its natural flora and fauna it is a photographers paradise.

 

MOORA:

Moora is situated on the banks of the Moore River. This area in its virgin state was a large salmon gum forest and many of the attractive trees still remain. The floral emblem of the Shire is the wildflower “Verticordia Grandis”, commonly known as the Scarlet Feather Flower. Moora has many parks and gardens and heritage buildings.

 

LANCELIN:

Lancelin is a commercial rock lobster centre with excellent deep sea and bay fishing and beautiful beaches for lazing away the day and soaking up the sun.

Lancelin is the gateway to Australia’s finest windsurfing and is noted on the International Windsurfing Circuit.

Popular pastimes include sand dune and dune buggy racing, surfing for amateur/professionals plus jetty and boat fishing. There is snorkeling and diving in sheltered waters for beginners, or reefs for the expert. Fourteen shipwrecks between Guilderton and Lancelin form the dive trail.

 

CERVANTES:

Cervantes was named after the American Whaler “Cervantes” which was wrecked on a nearby reef in 1844. This small “crayfishing” (rock lobster) town appeals to many anglers because of the wide range of fish that can be caught from the shore or from a small boat in the local waters.

Located 2kms from the Pinnacles turnoff, the town provides essential facilities and accommodation for all travelers. The Pinnacles, located in Nambung National Park, are one of Western Australia’s most popular attractions. Thousands of limestone pillars resembling the ruins of an ancient city stand tall against the stark yellow landscape.

 

 





























Admin     Terms   Contact